Home Run Derby Facts w/a Focus on the Reds

Fewest home runs to win a home run derby:My favorite player of all time, Cincinnati Red, Eric Davis in 1989 and Chicago Cub, Ryne Sandberg in 1990. Both won with only 3 home runs. Sandberg is also the only second baseman to win the derby.

Inaugural Home Run Derby winner:Another former Cincinnati Red, Dave Parker won the event in 1985, which is also the year I was born.

In 1987 only 4 players competed in the Home Run Derby. Andre Dawson won with a total of 4 home runs.

1988 the Home Run Derby wasn’t played at all, due to rain.

Ken Griffey Jr. has won the Home Run Derby three times. No one else has won twice. He also has the highest home run total in derby history (excluding swingoff playoffs) (more…)

Chase Utley Keeps It Real

If you missed the beginning of the Home Run Derby then you missed a special moment. Chase Utley unexpectedly heard boos when he was introduced, and he seemed genuinely surprised. His response was caught on camera for all to see and hear. And his response was classic and heartfelt.

“Boo?” He said, probably to himself just as much as anyone else. “Fuck you.” Now that’s genuine. I don’t blame the guy at all. I respect him more for it. It just makes him so relatable. The Home Run Derby at least actually means something to him. That’s a nice change of pace from the guys like A-Rod.