Quick Conversation With Jeremy Fikac

I graduated from Texas State University in May of 2008, but like most alumni from most schools, I continue to take an interest in their athletics. I recently noticed former major league pitcher, Jeremy Fikac had been hired as an assistant coach. Jeremy had pitched for the San Diego Padres, Oakland A’s and the Montreal Expos and made one last stop in the San Fransico Giants minor league system before retiring with a respectable 4.56 ERA. I got into contact with him and he offered to meet with me next time I came into San Marcos. Well I finally got down there and was able to talk to him for a few minutes before he had to get to work.

I asked him what kind of draft potential he thought we had and gave me the impression that several of the guys on the team right now have a decent shot at getting drafted. He was vague as to who those guys might be, but when I asked he said that Laurn Randall has a good shot if he could put together a solid season. Randall used to be roommates with a college buddy of mine so I’m hoping to see him go pro.

I asked him which guys from the majors he’s stayed in touch with and he mentioned Trevor Hoffman and Scott Linebrink. I thought it was funny he mentioned Linebrink seeing as I just wrote about the CD project he was included on. Jeremy told me has heard Linebrink’s recording of Pat Green’s ‘Wave on Wave’ and seemed to think it was pretty funny that I brought it up.

Of course while I was there I had to get him to sign a card for me. I had ordered a 2003 Fleer Tradition card of him for this trip specifically and when he saw the card he remarked “Those were the days”. The 2003 Fleer set is great for autographs. I love that set for autographs.

All said and done he was a really cool guy and when I wasn’t quite sure what to ask him, he took the initiative and asked his own questions. He also told me to find him again next time I’m in town and I think I’ll take him up on that. The short conversation really just made me want to ask more questions. Total class act and he gives me another reason to root for Bobcat baseball this year.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/quick-conversation-with-jeremy-fikac/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Caravan Luncheon at Dell Diamond The day after meeting Texas State University assistant coach, Jeremy Fikac, I headed to Round Rock, Tx to attend the Astros luncheon there. The event was emceed by the […]

  2. […] me when I talked to him at a Texas State baseball practice. If you haven’t read that story check it out here. Published […]


Leave a Reply

