The Naked and the Undead

I just recently watched Resident Evil: Apocalypse and Resident Evil: Extinction and I noticed a theme. They always find a way to have star, Milla Jovovich, naked, weak and vulnerable. It doesn’t matter that her character, Alice is out of Umbrella’s hands at the beginning of Extinction. We get to see a clone. What does that say about the filmmakers? What does that say about the Resident Evil audiences? And most importantly, will we get such a visual in Resident Evil: Afterlife? Afterlife comes out sometime this year, which is perfectly timed for my recent Resident Evil kick.

Milla Jovovich
Of course Resident Evil was originally a game. The only one I have (I think) is Resident Evil 4 for Nintendo Wii. It’s the best Wii game I’ve played yet and one of the best video games I’ve ever played. Sadly Nintendo and the Resident Evil franchise just don’t generally go hand-in-hand, and I’ve always been more of a Nintendo person than X-Box or PlayStation. I figure when the next generation of systems comes out I’ll go in the direction of PlayStation, but that’s neither here nor there. What is here is Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles. I’m waiting for the price to come down because I’m not much of a gamer, but when it does I’m pretty excited about the game. I don’t expect it to be as good as 4, but hopefully the controls are similar. If they are (and why wouldn’t they be?) how could they go wrong?

The franchise also includes novels. I can’t imagine they are good in the true sense of the word. Can anyone tell me if I’m wrong? I just have to much reading to do to waste time reading “video game books” (see when you put it like that it just sounds awful).

Either way it’s a marvelous franchise. Besides being entertaining it warns us all of big corporations and the government and media being to closely linked, what can go wrong in the search for better weaponry, and what the expense of greed can be. Mix those themes with sexually provocative characters, badass enemies, great visual effects and a good vs. evil thing and you’ve got a winner.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/the-naked-and-the-undead/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

