Spoiler! But Not an Avatar Spoiler!

I’ve seen the movie Avatar, and I really liked it. Therefore as I was reading an article about alleged “racism” in Avatar, I wasn’t concerned when it warned of spoilers ahead. But they did make a move to spoil a movie for me. Not Avatar of course. But District 9. They made no mention of District 9 spoilers. And then all of the sudden I read this: “Annalee Newitz, editor-in-chief of the sci-fi Web site io9.com , likened “Avatar” to the recent film “District 9,” in which a white man accidentally becomes an alien and then helps save them…”

Uhhhh, what the hell? I’m the type who doesn’t even like to read the back of a movie case if I know I’ll watch it anyways. (Of course some you have to read to determine whether or not you’ll view them.) Even if I had read the District 9 summary it wouldn’t have given that much away. I know. I just checked. And it wouldn’t be bad if D-9 was like a 2006 movie. But it’s a 2009 movie. So I just thought that was a dumb move on the part of the writer, Jesse Washington.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/spoiler-but-not-an-avatar-spoiler/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

