A.I. Retires For The First Time

10-time All-Star Allen Iverson is planning on retiring according to Stephen A. Smith. I don’t follow the NBA enough to say whether or not I saw this coming, but after reading this part of the article I will tell you that I think I see something else coming.

It said Iverson plans to retire but also that “I feel strongly that I can still compete at the highest level.”

The statement also said Iverson has tremendous love for the game and the desire to play.

So he can still compete at the highest level and he still has tremendous love for the game and he still has the desire to play. So I’m gonna go out on a ledge here and say he’s not done yet. I think it’s apparent that he left the team, because he didn’t want to be on that particular team, under that management. Now I don’t think he wants the embarrassment of being an unsigned free-agent. Which is fair and understandable. He’d rather say good-bye on his own terms than whither away until we also slowly realize his career is over. This way he gets to say. “My career is over. Farewell.” While still giving front offices around the league the impression that if they need someone, he’ll be around.

The only question is will anyone need A.I.?

Published in: on November 25, 2009 at 8:17 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/a-i-retires-for-the-first-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] I Called That Just a few days ago I mentioned that Allen Iverson was retiring for the first time. Well, I was right that it wouldn’t be his last. Granted, I can’t feel too […]


Leave a Reply

