Tis the night before Texas-OU

Tis the night before Texas-OU, and I cannot sleep.
I’ve tried thinking of nothing and tried counting sheep.
The TV is waiting, both large and hi-def.
My favorite word soon will begin with an ‘F’

I’ll also be singing alone though I am.
And if my neighbors hear me, I don’t give a damn.
The song will begin with the words “Texas Fight,”
And if UT wins, well I’ll sing it all night

The antipathy displayed down there on that field
Will simmer at first but then quickly build.
The hate blossoms around this time each season,
Which seems to me odd for one simple reason.

To compare them apart, you’d think they’d be friends.
Similar builds and ages, into women and wins.
They’re all good at sport and all matching sexes.
They all wear pads and all come from Texas.

Hard hits, shrill whistles and other football clichés
Will soon meld together in an orange and red haze.
When a winner emerges from the Cotton Bowl
We’ll see it reflected in an AP poll.

OU needs a win to keep its season from tanking.
With losses already they could lose that ranking.
Texas has got bigger Twinkies to fry.
For the unbeaten, it’s become now win or die.

By this time tomorrow I’ll be in my bed
Either dreaming in orange or seeing in red.
Whatever the case, I shan’t miss a snap,
Or hardly move as if caught in a trap.

A close game will put me on the edge of my couch,
While a UT blowout permits a slouch.
And if Texas don’t have what OU demands
I’ll watch the damn game with my face in my hands.

Longhorns nor Sooners lose love on the other.
This is a civil war; this is brother vers’ brother
Red River Rivalry doesn’t flow off the tongue
This is a shootout. P.C. B.S. be hung.

__________________________________________

Now you might be wondering, WTF was that? Honestly, I don’t know. I couldn’t sleep. Apologies. Back to your lives people. Eric suggested I write a preview for the game.

This is it(?)

Published in: on October 17, 2009 at 3:40 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/tis-the-night-before-texas-ou/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] A close game will put me on the edge of my couch, While a UT blowout permits a slouch. And if Texas don’t have what OU demands. I’ll watch the damn game with my face in my hands. Longhorns nor Sooners lose love on the other. This is a civil war; this is brother … on October 17, 2009 at 3:40 am Leave a Comment. The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/tis-the-night-before-texas-ou/trackback/. RSS feed for comments on this post. … Read more […]

  2. […] Tis the night before Texas-OU « MonozygoticA close game will put me on the edge of my couch, While a UT blowout permits a slouch. And if Texas don’t have what OU demands. I’ll watch the damn game with my face in my hands. Longhorns nor Sooners lose love on the other. … Read more […]

  3. […] Tis the night before Texas-OU « Monozygotic (monozygotic.wordpress.com) – October 17, 2009A close game will put me on the edge of my couch, While a UT blowout permits a slouch. And if Texas don’t have what OU demands. I’ll watch the damn game with my face in my hands. Longhorns nor Sooners… […]

  4. […] day in college football mere minutes away… Halle Berry at a benefit or something… Twas the night before Texas-OU… Jenna Fischer in a bikini… Send tips to myself or Mr. […]


Leave a Reply

