The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

Reading has its own unique little joys. That’s why I keep doing it. A few months ago a friend gave me the book The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon. I enjoyed the book very much and highly recommend it, but that is beside the point.

During the course of the story, several references are made to Sherlock Holmes and especially The Hound of the Baskervilles. Tonight, I started reading The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, a collection of stories that I picked out for myself for Christmas.

I’m still in the first story, “Silver Blaze.”

Another inspector asks Sherlock Holmes, “Is there any point to which you would wish to draw my attention?”

“To the curious incident of the dog in the night-time,” Holmes replies.

And I’m hooked.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2008/07/14/the-curious-incident-of-the-dog-in-the-night-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have you heard that there will be not one but two Sherlock Holmes movies this year? One starring Robert Downey, JR, the other, Sacha Baron Cohen?

    I mean, maybe it’s a rumor.

  2. Haven’t heard that. I did hear an Ender’s Game movie was in the works. That could be fun.

  3. “The dog did nothing in the night-time.”

    “That was the curious incident,” remarked Sherlock Holmes.

    Oh, I LOVE it. And highly recommend the TV-Version with Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes!


Leave a Reply

