My Library

Two of my favorite things to do are reading and writing. That said, I’m a lot better reader than I am a writer.

It’s easier.

The more I read though, the more I want to write. And I really like writing about what I read.

So that’s the point of a post like this. I get to talk about what I’m reading, remark on what I like or dislike about it and try really hard to be clever and subtle. Pop references are all the rage nowadays, so I’ll make plenty of references.

But I’m really clever, so the references will be subtle. You probably won’t get many of them or even realize they exist.

I apologize in advance.

Due to the long (but entirely necessary) preamble, I’ll keep this short.

At least, I’ll try.

I’m a rabid collector. That’s something me and Eric have in common. Two of my collections mean more to me than anything else: my books and my baseball cards (more on the latter some other time).

I haven’t counted my books lately, but I’m under the impression that the number of books one owns directly corresponds with one’s intelligence. So I go to Half-Price books a lot and buy everything that catches my eye. My books include — I’m just going to include the ones that I think might impress you, make you nod your head or make you scratch your head — Catch-22, Fahrenheit 451, Animal Farm, The Great Gatsby, Slaughterhouse-Five, All Quiet on the Western Front, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, The Lord of the Rings, The Once and Future King, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, The Road, The Punch, A Season on the Brink, Friday Night Lights, Summer of ’49, Ball Four, Incredible Victory, Blackhawk Down, The “Good” War, Infamous Scribblers…

And a whole lot more.

I haven’t read all my books, but I’ve read all the ones I listed.

And a whole lot more.

Published in: on June 25, 2008 at 6:38 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://monozygotic.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/my-library/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. love books as well..


Leave a Reply

